About Monmouthshire

Monmouthshire (Welsh: Sir Fynwy) is both peaceful and full of life. There are leisure activities for everyone, with plenty to see and do. Set in the readily accessable South-East of Wales, it is served by the M4 and M48 to Bristol, London and Cardiff and to the north by the M50 to Birminham and Manchester, via the A449.

The current administrative area of Monmouthshire was created in 1996 and covers the eastern half of the traditional county - namely the following towns:

  • Abergavenny
  • Chepstow
  • Monmouth
  • Raglan
  • Usk

The county covers 328 sq mi (851 sq km) and the traditional county of Monmouthshire includes Newport, and borders Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Brecknockshire, and Glamorgan. The old administrative county of Gwent, which existed from 1974 to 1996, covered this area almost exactly.

Monmouthshire's Welsh status was ambiguous until 1974 when the area (as Gwent) was specifically incorporated into Wales as part of a local government reform. Previously the legal formula had been to refer to 'Wales and Monmouthshire'. In popular usage it had been considered part of Wales for many centuries. The ambiguity surrounding its status arose from its not being mentioned in the second Act of Union between England and Wales in the 16th century.

Monmouthshire enjoys both English and Welsh heritage.

Local Building Materials

Many of the building materials used in properties throughout Monmouthshire can be found locally and an extract from the book "Buildings of Wales: Monmouthshire and Gwent" provides an interesting insight to those interested.